Parents

Welcome to the Experiences Canada Family!

Congratulations on registering your child for a reciprocal exchange! Over the coming months you will find this is an experience that not only leaves a lasting impression on your child, but on your whole family. Whether you will be hosting a student in your home, or supporting the youth in their common stay activities, we hope you will enjoy being an ally on their journey to discovering more about this country, its diversity of language, cultures, and history, and about themselves.

We’d like to tell you a little more about Experiences Canada, our programs and services, as well as provide some tips about what you might expect while your child is participating in the exchange. There is even information about opportunities for your youth to stay involved once their trip has ended!

Host Family Tips

  • Introduce yourself and let your twin youth know how you would like to be called
  • Be open and communicate
  • Call their family and introduce yourself
  • Give them a tour of the house
  • Let them know about your laundry schedule
  • Give them your meal time schedule
  • Review the week itinerary so everyone is aware of morning wake up time and afternoon schedule
  • Review the pickup and drop off schedule
  • Meal plan for the week-discuss allergies, food preferences, times
  • Make the youth feel comfortable and part of the family

Preparing your youth for Travel

  • Be open to new things — explain to your youth that there twin may speak a different language and eat different foods, encourage them to be open and try new things!! Trying new things will build their awareness for diversity and support their appreciation of differences
  • Establish a schedule on when to check in with you when they are on the exchange
  • Encourage them to communicate with their twin family
  • If they are homesick or if something is bothering them, encourage them to speak about it right away with their group organizer or host family
  • Pack appropriate clothing for weather-speak to your twin family for tips
  • Provide spending money, during the exchange there may be time for youth to shop

FAQ

What if I have youth that have special needs?

We strongly believe that all youth should have equal access to participation in Experiences Canada Exchanges. As such we provide limited funding to support the inclusion of youth with special needs or disabilities, from low-income households, rural or isolated areas and other needs on a case-by-case basis.

What if there are any behavioral issues or other emergencies while on exchange?

Although an Experiences Canada representative is always available to discuss situations, the Group Organizers are responsible for the day-to-day supervision and overall group management. All emergencies and/or incidents are to be dealt with in a timely, appropriate and professional manner by the Group Organizer or another responsible adult from their school or organization. If there is an emergency situation while on exchange, please inform our staff at your first opportunity by calling the emergency phone line number that will be provided to you.

What kind of insurance do I need to get?

All Experiences Canada participants are covered by a group accident insurance plan during the two weeks of their exchange. Travel or cancellation insurance, which includes emergency hospital/medical insurance, is not part of Experiences Canada’s plan however it can be purchased directly from our travel provider, or through family plans or independent insurance providers.

Do I need to bring anything with me to complete the Police Record Check?

Please bring photo ID and the volunteer letter which can be found in the Experiences Canada secure website.

How do I obtain a Police Record and Vulnerable Sector Check?

To obtain the Police Record and Vulnerable Sector Check please visit your local police department.

Who is required to obtain Police Checks?

All group organizers and chaperones are required to obtain a Police Record and Vulnerable Sector Check. All members of the host family who are over the age of 18 are also required to obtain a police record and vulnerable sector check.

How do I know the host family stay will be safe?

The safety and security of our exchange participants is Experiences Canada’s number one priority. All host families must complete a strict screening process which includes providing references and/or having a home visit by the Group Organizer. We believe that the host family experience is a positive learning opportunity and creates a connection between the youth that would only occur outside of structured activities.

Where do we stay when we visit our twin group?

Experiences Canada exchanges are intended to be a reciprocal, homestay experience. Each youth participant is billeted in his or her selected twin’s home; likewise, adult chaperones are expected to host each other. If there are circumstances in which a group is unable to billet in homes, either for cultural, space and/or safety and security reasons, it is possible to request and plan a common stay arrangement.

Who arranges the travel and how do we get to our destination?

Experiences Canada pays for and arranges your group’s travel by airplane, train or coach based on your requested dates. Experiences Canada will also arrange the airport transfer buses if your school is located 100 km or farther from the nearest airport. Groups who are closer to the airport organize their own airport transfers; however, Experiences Canada will reimburse them for this cost upon presentation of official invoices.

How do I twin the youth?

Group Organizers develop twinning criteria together and a plan to facilitate good matches based on individual profiles, ages, interests, as well as on any allergies, medical concerns and/or special needs.

What kinds of activities are involved?

The types of activities you do with your twin group should generally reflect the local culture, community, and history of where your group is located. Current guidelines from Canadian Heritage require that a minimum of 30% of each exchange week’s activities be historical or heritage related. Additional activities may reflect specific thematic exchanges and can be organized accordingly for music, sports, leadership, outdoor education, anti-bullying discussions, and more. In collaboration with the twin group organizer, each group designs a hosting week program that shows off their own community and meets the objectives of each group’s exchange learning plan and Canadian Heritage’s guidelines. Please note that all participants in both groups must participate in all activities during both halves of the exchange.

How much will an exchange cost and who pays these costs?

Each group pays a membership fee upon submitting an application, and then a per participant registration fee once an exchange has been approved and confirmed. The travel costs between community airports are paid for by Experiences Canada with funding from Exchanges Canada at the Department of Canadian Heritage. Participants are, however, liable for the full price of the ticket if they cancel and the group is not able to find a replacement up to 1 week prior to scheduled travel. In such cases, Experiences Canada will invoice the participant. The cost of local activities and excursions during the exchange is paid for by the groups through self-financing. The average cost per youth varies from $300-$500 depending on the activities and excursions chosen. Many groups organize fundraising events to help cover the cost of activities and local transportation when hosting their twin group.

Do students miss school?

Yes, depending on the travel and hosting weeks, students could miss school. However, Experiences Canada, participating schools, and community associations recognize that experiential learning is a valuable complement to the school setting.

When does our group travel and host?

Exchanges can take place any time of the year. Once approved for funding, the two groups discuss and agree on travel and hosting dates. Experiences Canada will then coordinate the travel arrangements.

Where can I travel on an exchange?

Anywhere in Canada! Experiences Canada is active in all Canadian provinces and territories. Groups can request a specific destination or let our staff recommend one.

How long is an exchange?

Exchanges are typically 7 to 10 days for each group (including 2 days of allotted travel time).

How old are the youth that participate?

Experiences Canada Exchanges are designed for youth between the ages of 12 and 17 years.

What is an Experiences Canada Exchange?

An Experiences Canada Exchange is a reciprocal, homestay exchange between two groups of Canadian youth, each in a different part of Canada. Experiences Canada exchanges are enriching, enhance learning and give participants an experience that lasts a lifetime.

What if I have other questions?

Experiences Canada staff are available Monday through Friday from 8:30am-4:30pm (Eastern Standard Time) to answer any and all of your questions.

Testimonials

A huge thank you. My twin daughters went to British Columbia in 2017. It was an amazing and memorable growing experience. They are proud of their country, Canada, and its history. — Parent
My daughter struggles in our small school with self-confidence. Being in this group this past year has given her confidence and show her a whole big world. She has now chosen to move away and continue her next step in education closer to the new friends she has met through this experience. There’s another world out there and this experience has pushed her... — Parent
I have seen changes in my children and other students each trip. They are using French reflexively on the way home. Increased confidence, pride in being able to travel and live outside of their comfort zone, and knowing their communication skills are improving with each day. Other students have had life changing trips. One of my daughters continued in French... — Parent
This is a program that needs to be more widely known. As parents, we were very impressed with the staff we spoke to. Everyone was very helpful, and willing to find answers to any questions we had. They were very accessible and easy to contact. We have no hesitation recommending the program to other families. — Parent
Both my boys (who are in French immersion) did a week-long exchange in Quebec in middle school, with a student staying with us as well for a week each time. They all had great experiences, and I think it was a valuable learning experience for them. Very healthy for them to be exposed to a new family and their different way of living and eating. — Parent
My son had a fantastic time! It was a good opportunity for him to gain some independence & confidence. — Parent
Amalie was an incredible gift to us during this week and we are all going to miss her tremendously. I was very nervous at the beginning but the minute she came into our house I knew she was going to fit in perfectly and she did. — Surb Atwal, Parent
My daughter loved the experience and formed a wonderful friendship. We even welcomed her friend again last summer. — Parent
My son still almost 7 months later talks about his experiences on his forum trips. He is a better student, leader and volunteer since he went. We live in a small community and he would never have been able to gain these experiences here. — Parent
One of my daughters continued in French in university as a result of the trips. — Parent
On my exchange, I became friends with people who spoke a totally different language, living at the other side of Canada. We became very close friends and I realized that the only thing blocking myself off from other people were not “cultural differences” or "language barriers"... it was myself! After my exchange, I took the extra leap to run for student... — Lauren Lee of Vancouver BC
There is no better way to see the diversity in Canada than to go to a new community, with a different culture and completely immerse yourself into the culture and the community. With my exchange, I realized that life doesn’t always have to be busy, like it is in Edmonton, my home-town. Now I have an interest in experiencing new cultures - not as a tourist... — Samuel Geisterfer of Edmonton AB
It may sound strange, but, I didn’t expect I’d really have to use English to communicate on my exchange. What a shock when I got to Redcliff, and was left alone with my Alberta parents who didn’t know a single word of French! I felt really lost… But with a full range of gestures, facial expressions and sounds, and lots of laughter and patience, we... — Léola Muntu-Caron of La Pocatière QC
My exchange opened my eyes to new cultures and experiences, which have increased my knowledge of our nation. The family I was placed with emigrated from the Netherlands in 2000. The Experiences Canada exchange program is the only program that I know of that allows you to personally experience another culture by being totally immersed in it... — Sarah Simpson of Cavendish PEI
I was lucky to go on an exchange to Nunavut, and it was so exciting to learn about a different culture that is literally in my own back yard, but is yet so far away. The North is such rich part of Canada's geography and heritage, and I had not learned much about it until this exchange opportunity came along. I felt it was important to learn the about the... — Andrew Grose of Alma Ontario

Parents

Bienvenue dans la famille d’Expériences Canada!

Nous vous félicitons d’avoir inscrit votre enfant à un échange! Au cours des prochains mois, vous découvrirez que cette expérience ne laisse pas seulement une impression durable à votre enfant, mais aussi à toute votre famille. Que vous accueilliez un élève chez vous ou que vous souteniez les jeunes dans leur séjour en hébergement commun, nous espérons que vous apprécierez de contribuer à leur voyage qui leur permettra d’en savoir un peu plus sur leur pays, sur sa diversité linguistique, culturelle et historique, ainsi que sur eux-mêmes. Nous aimerions vous en dire un peu plus sur Expériences Canada et sur les programmes et services offerts, et souhaitons vous donner quelques conseils sur ce à quoi vous pouvez vous attendre pendant que votre enfant participe à l’échange. Il y a même de l’information sur les possibilités pour vos jeunes de continuer à participer une fois leur voyage terminé!

Conseils pour être une bonne famille d’accueil

  • Présentez-vous et dites au jeune que vous accueillez comment vous aimeriez qu’il vous appelle.
  • Soyez ouvert et communiquez.
  • Appelez sa famille et présentez-vous.
  • Faites-lui visiter la maison.
  • Informez-le du moment où vous faites la lessive.
  • Indiquez-lui vos heures de repas.
  • Examinez le programme de la semaine pour que tout le monde sache à quelle heure se lever et connaisse l’horaire de l’après-midi.
  • Vérifiez les heures auxquelles on vient le chercher et on le ramène.
  • Discutez du plan de repas de la semaine : parlez des allergies, des préférences alimentaires, des heures de repas.
  • Faites en sorte que le jeune se sente à l’aise et qu’il ait l’impression de faire partie de la famille.

Préparer votre jeune pour le voyage

  • Soyez ouvert à de nouvelles choses – expliquez à votre jeune qu’il est possible que son jumeau parle une autre langue et mange des aliments différents; encouragez-le à être ouvert et à essayer de nouvelles choses! Cela lui permettra de prendre conscience de la diversité et d’apprendre à apprécier les différences.
  • Établissez un horaire indiquant à quel moment communiquer avec vous lorsqu’il participera à l’échange.
  • Encouragez-le à communiquer avec la famille avec laquelle il a été jumelé.
  • Encouragez-le à parler immédiatement avec son organisateur de groupe ou sa famille d’accueil s’il s’ennuie de chez lui ou si quelque chose le dérange.
  • Prévoyez des vêtements appropriés à la météo – parlez à votre famille jumelle pour obtenir des conseils.
  • Prévoyez de l’argent de poche – pendant l’échange, il pourrait y avoir du temps consacré au magasinage.

FAQ

Que se passe-t-il si certains jeunes ont des besoins spéciaux?

EXPÉRIENCES CANADA pense que tous les jeunes devraient avoir la chance de participer à un échange et, par conséquent, elle offre un financement additionnel limité afin de soutenir les jeunes ayant des incapacités ou des besoins spéciaux ainsi que les jeunes provenant de familles à faible revenu, issus de collectivités rurales ou isolées ou ayant d’autres besoins. EXPÉRIENCES CANADA évalue leurs besoins et les demandes cas par cas.

Que se passe-t-il si des problèmes de comportement ou des urgences se présentent au cours d’un échange?

Un représentant d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA est disponible en tout temps pour discuter de la situation, mais ce sont les organisateurs de groupe qui sont responsables de la supervision et de la gestion quotidienne des groupes. Toutes les situations d’urgence et tous les incidents doivent être gérés de manière rapide, efficace et professionnelle par l’organisateur du groupe ou un autre adulte responsable, de concert avec leur organisation. En cas d’urgence pendant les deux volets de l’échange, veuillez informer EXPÉRIENCES CANADA dans les 24 heures qui suivent en appelant notre ligne téléphonique de secours.

Dois-je me procurer une assurance?

EXPÉRIENCES CANADA détient un régime d’assurance collective contre les accidents par lequel tous les participants sont couverts pendant les deux volets de l’échange. Une assurance maladie et annulation de voyage ne fait pas partie du régime d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA. Vous pouvez vous procurer une couverture complémentaire directement auprès de notre agence de voyages, par l’intermédiaire d’un régime d’assurance familiale ou d’un fournisseur indépendant.

Que dois-je amener avec moi au poste de police pour obtenir  une vérification de casier judiciaire et une vérification de l’habilitation à travailler auprès des personnes vulnérables ?

Apportez une photo d’identité et la lettre de Vérification de casier judiciaire pour la personne bénévole que vous retrouverez sur la page sécuritaire de notre site internet.

Comment faire pour obtenir une vérification de casier judiciaire et une vérification de l’habilitation à travailler auprès des personnes vulnérables ?

Pour l’obtention d’une vérification de casier judiciaire et une vérification de l’habilitation à travailler auprès des personnes vulnérables, veuillez rendre visite au poste de police de votre ville.

Qui doit obtenir une vérification de casier judiciaire et une vérification de l’habilitation à travailler auprès des personnes vulnérables ?

Chaque organisateur de groupe et les accompagnateurs adultes doivent procéder à une vérification de casier judiciaire et une vérification de l’habilitation à travailler auprès des personnes vulnérables  ainsi que  tous les membres de la famille d’accueil  âgés de plus de 18.

Comment puis-je savoir si mon séjour en famille d’accueil sera sécuritaire?

À EXPÉRIENCES CANADA, la sécurité est notre priorité absolue. Toutes les familles d’accueil doivent suivre un processus de sélection strict au cours duquel elles présentent des références ou reçoivent la visite à la maison de l’organisateur de groupe. Nous croyons que l’expérience vécue en famille d’accueil constitue une occasion d’apprentissage positive et permet une connexion entre les jeunes en dehors des activités organisées.

Où logeons-nous lorsque nous sommes en visite chez notre groupe jumeau?

Les échanges d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA sont réciproques et en milieu familial. Chaque jeune participant réside dans une famille d’accueil. De la même manière on s’attend à ce que les accompagnateurs s’hébergent mutuellement. S’il y a certaines circonstances dont les jeunes du groupe ne peuvent recevoir chez eux pour des raisons culturelles, d’espace ou de sécurité, il est possible de demander et d’organiser un hébergement commun.

Qui s’occupe des arrangements pour le transport et comment nous rendons-nous à notre destination?

EXPÉRIENCES CANADA s’occupe du transport principal effectué en avion, en train ou en autocar aux dates demandées et en assume les coûts. De plus, EXPÉRIENCES CANADA s’occupe et assume les coûts pour les transferts aéroportuaires pour les groupes qui sont à 100 km ou plus de l’aéroport. Pour les groupes qui sont à une distance de moins de 100 km de l’aéroport, EXPÉRIENCES CANADA assumera les coûts une fois fourni avec les factures officielles.

Comment devrais-je jumeler les jeunes?

Les deux organisateurs de groupe déterminent les personnes qui seront jumelées ensemble en se basant sur leurs profils individuels, leurs âges, leurs intérêts, et aussi sur les allergies, particularités médicales et/ou handicaps physiques.

Quels types d’activité peuvent être organisés?

Les activités reflètent généralement l’histoire locales, la culture et la collectivité. . Les directives actuelles du ministère du Patrimoine canadien exigent qu’au moins 30 % des activités prévues à votre programme contiennent un thème historique. Il est également possible d’organiser d’autres activités dans le cadre d’échanges thématiques sur des sujets comme la musique, le sport, le leadership, l’enseignement du plein air, la lutte contre l’intimidation, et encore plus. Les organisateurs de chaque groupe créent de concert un programme d’activités qui présente leur communauté et atteint les objectifs d’apprentissage de chaque groupe ainsi que ceux du Patrimoine canadien. Veuillez prendre en note que tous les participants des deux groupes doivent participer à toutes les activités organisées au cours des deux volets de l’échange.

Combien coûte la participation à un échange et qui paie les frais?

Chaque groupe paie les frais d’adhésion lorsqu’ils soumettent une demande de participation ainsi que les frais d’inscription qui s’élèvent par participant une fois qu’un échange est approuvé et confirmé. Les coûts de transport d’un aéroport à l’autre sont payés par EXPÉRIENCES CANADA grâce au financement d’Échanges Canada du Ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Cependant, tout billet non-utilisé ou annulé après son émission sera facturé au groupe. Les groupes assument les frais liés aux activités et aux excursions locales. Le coût moyen par jeune peut varier de 300 $ au 500 $ selon le programme d’activités proposé par chacun des groupes. La plupart des groupes organise des campagnes de financement afin de payer les activités et le transport durant la semaine d’accueil.

Les élèves manqueront-ils de l’école?

Oui, dépendant des dates de voyage et d’accueil choisies. Toutefois, EXPÉRIENCES CANADA ainsi que les écoles et les organismes communautaires participants reconnaissent qu’un apprentissage basé sur l’expérience vécue constitue un complément précieux à un apprentissage effectué dans un milieu scolaire.

Quand notre groupe voyagera-t-il et accueillera-t-il notre groupe jumeau?

Les échanges peuvent avoir lieu n’importe quand au cours de l’année. Dès que deux groupes sont accordés du financement pour faire un échange, ils s’entendent sur les dates de voyage et d’accueil. EXPÉRIENCES CANADA s’occupe ensuite de la coordination des déplacements.

Où puis-je aller lors d’un échange?

Partout au Canada! EXPÉRIENCES CANADA est active dans toutes les provinces et tous les territoires du Canada. Les groupes peuvent demander une destination particulière ou laisser EXPÉRIENCES CANADA leur en recommander une.

Quelle est la durée d’un échange?

Un échange dure normalement deux semaines, c’est-à-dire une semaine dans chaque communauté.

Quel âge ont les jeunes participants?

Le programme d’échanges d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA est offert aux jeunes de 12 à 17 ans.

Qu’est-ce qu’un échange jeunesse d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA?

Un échange jeunesse d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA s’agit d’un séjour réciproque en milieu familial qui repose sur le jumelage de groupes issus de provinces ou de territoires différents. Les échanges d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA sont enrichissants, améliorent l’apprentissage chez les jeunes et donnent aux participants l’occasion de vivre une expérience qui les marque pour la vie.

Comment devrais-je jumeler les jeunes?

Les deux organisateurs de groupe déterminent les personnes qui seront jumelées ensemble en se basant sur leurs profils individuels, leurs âges, leurs intérêts, et aussi sur les allergies, particularités médicales et/ou handicaps physiques.

Témoignages

Un grand merci, mes filles, des jumelles, ont été en Colombie-Britannique en 2017, une expérience extraordinaire, mémorable et grandissante. Elles sont fières de leur pays, le Canada et de son histoire. — Un parent
Dans notre petite école, ma fille a des problèmes de confiance en soi. Le fait d’être dans ce groupe au cours de la dernière année lui a donné confiance et lui a montré que le monde était grand. — Un parent
J’ai vu des changements chez mes enfants. Ils ont développé une confiance accrue, la fierté de pouvoir voyager et vivre à l’extérieur de leur zone de confort et une confiance dans leurs compétences en communication qui s’améliorent de jour en jour. — Un parent
Ce programme mérite d’être mieux connu. Nous avons été très impressionnés par le personnel à qui nous avons parlé. Tout le monde était très serviable et disposé à trouver des réponses à toutes les questions que nous avions. Nous n’hésitons pas à recommander le programme à d’autres familles. — Un parent
Mes deux garçons ont fait un échange d’une semaine au Québec. Ils ont tous vécu d’excellents moments, et je pense que c’était une expérience d’apprentissage précieuse pour eux. C’est très sain pour eux d’être exposés à une nouvelle famille et à leur façon de vivre et de manger différente. — Un parent
Mon fils a passé un moment fantastique! Ça a été une bonne occasion pour lui d’acquérir un peu d’indépendance et de confiance. — Un parent
Amalie était un beau cadeau pour nous cette semaine et nous allons la manquer beaucoup. J’étais très nerveuse au tout début, mais la minute que nous l’avons accueilli, je savais qu’elle était pour bien s’adapter et j’avais raison. — Surb Atwal, Parent
Ma fille a adoré son expérience et a développé une belle amitié. Nous avons d’ailleurs accueilli à nouveau son amie l’été dernier. — Un parent
Presque 7 mois plus tard, mon fils parle encore de sa participation aux forums jeunesse. Il est un meilleur élève, un meilleur leader et un meilleur bénévole depuis qu’il y est allé. Nous vivons dans une petite communauté et il n’aurait jamais pu acquérir ces expériences ici. — Un parent
Une de mes filles a continué ses études en français à l’université à la suite des voyages. — Un parent
Pendant mon échange, je suis devenue amie avec des gens qui parlent une langue complètement différente et qui vivent à l’autre bout du Canada. Nous sommes devenus des amis très proches et j’ai pris conscience que la seule chose qui m’empêchait de m’ouvrir aux autres, ce n’était pas les “différences culturelles” ou la “barrière de la... — Lauren Lee, de Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique
Il n’y a pas de meilleur moyen de connaître la diversité canadienne que d’aller dans une nouvelle communauté de culture différente et de s’y plonger complètement. Grâce à mon échange, j’ai réalisé que la vie ne doit pas nécessairement être une course, comme c’est le cas à Edmonton, ma ville natale. J’ai développé le goût... — Samuel Geisterfer, d’Edmonton en Alberta
Cela peut sembler un peu bizarre, mais dans mon ignorance, je ne pensais pas que des gens pouvaient parler en anglais pour de vrai. Quelle ne fut pas ma surprise quand je suis arrivée dans la petite ville de Redcliff et que mes parents albertains ne parlaient pas un traître mot français! J’étais vraiment désemparée. Avec beaucoup de mimes, de... — Léola Muntu-Caron de La Pocatière au Québec
Mon échange m’a ouvert les yeux sur de nouvelles cultures et fait vivre de nouvelles expériences, ce qui fait que je connais mieux notre pays. Ma famille d’accueil a émigré depuis les Pays-Bas en 2000. Le programme d'échange d'Expériences Canada est le seul programme, à ma connaissance, qui te permet de faire personnellement... — Sarah Simpson, de Cavendish à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard
J’ai eu la chance de participer à un échange au Nunavut. J’ai trouvé ça formidable de découvrir une culture différente qui est si près de moi tout en étant si éloignée. Le nord du Canada est une région très importante sur le plan géographique et historique, sur laquelle j’avais appris peu de choses avant mon échange. Pour moi, c’était... — Andrew Grose, d’Alma en Ontario