Forums

Youth engagement

FAQ

What if I have youth that have special needs?

We strongly believe that all youth should have equal access to participation in Experiences Canada Exchanges. As such we provide limited funding to support the inclusion of youth with special needs or disabilities, from low-income households, rural or isolated areas and other needs on a case-by-case basis.

What kind of insurance do I need to get?

All Experiences Canada participants are covered by a group accident insurance plan during the two weeks of their exchange. Travel or cancellation insurance, which includes emergency hospital/medical insurance, is not part of Experiences Canada’s plan however it can be purchased directly from our travel provider, or through family plans or independent insurance providers.

What kinds of activities are involved?

The types of activities you do with your twin group should generally reflect the local culture, community, and history of where your group is located. Current guidelines from Canadian Heritage require that a minimum of 30% of each exchange week’s activities be historical or heritage related. Additional activities may reflect specific thematic exchanges and can be organized accordingly for music, sports, leadership, outdoor education, anti-bullying discussions, and more. In collaboration with the twin group organizer, each group designs a hosting week program that shows off their own community and meets the objectives of each group’s exchange learning plan and Canadian Heritage’s guidelines. Please note that all participants in both groups must participate in all activities during both halves of the exchange.

How much will an exchange cost and who pays these costs?

Each group pays a membership fee upon submitting an application, and then a per participant registration fee once an exchange has been approved and confirmed. The travel costs between community airports are paid for by Experiences Canada with funding from Exchanges Canada at the Department of Canadian Heritage. Participants are, however, liable for the full price of the ticket if they cancel and the group is not able to find a replacement up to 1 week prior to scheduled travel. In such cases, Experiences Canada will invoice the participant. The cost of local activities and excursions during the exchange is paid for by the groups through self-financing. The average cost per youth varies from $300-$500 depending on the activities and excursions chosen. Many groups organize fundraising events to help cover the cost of activities and local transportation when hosting their twin group.

What if I have other questions?

Experiences Canada staff are available Monday through Friday from 8:30am-4:30pm (Eastern Standard Time) to answer any and all of your questions.

Testimonials

On my exchange, I became friends with people who spoke a totally different language, living at the other side of Canada. We became very close friends and I realized that the only thing blocking myself off from other people were not “cultural differences” or "language barriers"... it was myself! After my exchange, I took the extra leap to run for student... — Lauren Lee of Vancouver BC
There is no better way to see the diversity in Canada than to go to a new community, with a different culture and completely immerse yourself into the culture and the community. With my exchange, I realized that life doesn’t always have to be busy, like it is in Edmonton, my home-town. Now I have an interest in experiencing new cultures - not as a tourist... — Samuel Geisterfer of Edmonton AB
It may sound strange, but, I didn’t expect I’d really have to use English to communicate on my exchange. What a shock when I got to Redcliff, and was left alone with my Alberta parents who didn’t know a single word of French! I felt really lost… But with a full range of gestures, facial expressions and sounds, and lots of laughter and patience, we... — Léola Muntu-Caron of La Pocatière QC
My exchange opened my eyes to new cultures and experiences, which have increased my knowledge of our nation. The family I was placed with emigrated from the Netherlands in 2000. The Experiences Canada exchange program is the only program that I know of that allows you to personally experience another culture by being totally immersed in it... — Sarah Simpson of Cavendish PEI
On my exchange, I experienced many new things which include...plane ride, public transport, NHL game, walking in a cave (spelunking) Hard Rock Cafe, first night in jail (we can explain!), first time to parliament, first time skiing on a real mountain, skating on the canal. Experiences Canada helped me experience Canada for the first time, and now I’m... — Myles Gallant of Cavendish PEI

Forums

Engagement des jeunes

FAQ

Que se passe-t-il si certains jeunes ont des besoins spéciaux?

EXPÉRIENCES CANADA pense que tous les jeunes devraient avoir la chance de participer à un échange et, par conséquent, elle offre un financement additionnel limité afin de soutenir les jeunes ayant des incapacités ou des besoins spéciaux ainsi que les jeunes provenant de familles à faible revenu, issus de collectivités rurales ou isolées ou ayant d’autres besoins. EXPÉRIENCES CANADA évalue leurs besoins et les demandes cas par cas.

Dois-je me procurer une assurance?

EXPÉRIENCES CANADA détient un régime d’assurance collective contre les accidents par lequel tous les participants sont couverts pendant les deux volets de l’échange. Une assurance maladie et annulation de voyage ne fait pas partie du régime d’EXPÉRIENCES CANADA. Vous pouvez vous procurer une couverture complémentaire directement auprès de notre agence de voyages, par l’intermédiaire d’un régime d’assurance familiale ou d’un fournisseur indépendant.

Quels types d’activité peuvent être organisés?

Les activités reflètent généralement l’histoire locales, la culture et la collectivité. . Les directives actuelles du ministère du Patrimoine canadien exigent qu’au moins 30 % des activités prévues à votre programme contiennent un thème historique. Il est également possible d’organiser d’autres activités dans le cadre d’échanges thématiques sur des sujets comme la musique, le sport, le leadership, l’enseignement du plein air, la lutte contre l’intimidation, et encore plus. Les organisateurs de chaque groupe créent de concert un programme d’activités qui présente leur communauté et atteint les objectifs d’apprentissage de chaque groupe ainsi que ceux du Patrimoine canadien. Veuillez prendre en note que tous les participants des deux groupes doivent participer à toutes les activités organisées au cours des deux volets de l’échange.

Combien coûte la participation à un échange et qui paie les frais?

Chaque groupe paie les frais d’adhésion lorsqu’ils soumettent une demande de participation ainsi que les frais d’inscription qui s’élèvent par participant une fois qu’un échange est approuvé et confirmé. Les coûts de transport d’un aéroport à l’autre sont payés par EXPÉRIENCES CANADA grâce au financement d’Échanges Canada du Ministère du Patrimoine canadien. Cependant, tout billet non-utilisé ou annulé après son émission sera facturé au groupe. Les groupes assument les frais liés aux activités et aux excursions locales. Le coût moyen par jeune peut varier de 300 $ au 500 $ selon le programme d’activités proposé par chacun des groupes. La plupart des groupes organise des campagnes de financement afin de payer les activités et le transport durant la semaine d’accueil.

Comment devrais-je jumeler les jeunes?

Les deux organisateurs de groupe déterminent les personnes qui seront jumelées ensemble en se basant sur leurs profils individuels, leurs âges, leurs intérêts, et aussi sur les allergies, particularités médicales et/ou handicaps physiques.

Témoignages

Pendant mon échange, je suis devenue amie avec des gens qui parlent une langue complètement différente et qui vivent à l’autre bout du Canada. Nous sommes devenus des amis très proches et j’ai pris conscience que la seule chose qui m’empêchait de m’ouvrir aux autres, ce n’était pas les “différences culturelles” ou la “barrière de la... — Lauren Lee, de Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique
Il n’y a pas de meilleur moyen de connaître la diversité canadienne que d’aller dans une nouvelle communauté de culture différente et de s’y plonger complètement. Grâce à mon échange, j’ai réalisé que la vie ne doit pas nécessairement être une course, comme c’est le cas à Edmonton, ma ville natale. J’ai développé le goût... — Samuel Geisterfer, d’Edmonton en Alberta
Cela peut sembler un peu bizarre, mais dans mon ignorance, je ne pensais pas que des gens pouvaient parler en anglais pour de vrai. Quelle ne fut pas ma surprise quand je suis arrivée dans la petite ville de Redcliff et que mes parents albertains ne parlaient pas un traître mot français! J’étais vraiment désemparée. Avec beaucoup de mimes, de... — Léola Muntu-Caron de La Pocatière au Québec
Mon échange m’a ouvert les yeux sur de nouvelles cultures et fait vivre de nouvelles expériences, ce qui fait que je connais mieux notre pays. Ma famille d’accueil a émigré depuis les Pays-Bas en 2000. Le programme d'échange d'Expériences Canada est le seul programme, à ma connaissance, qui te permet de faire personnellement... — Sarah Simpson, de Cavendish à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Pendant mon échange, j’ai fait plein de choses pour la première fois, comme… voyager en avion, utiliser les transports en commun, assister à une partie de la LNH, marcher dans une grotte (spéléologie), entrer dans un Hard Rock Café, passer ma première nuit en prison (je peux tout expliquer!), visiter le Parlement, skier sur une vraie montagne,... — Myles Gallant, de Cavendish sur l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard