Alumni

DOWNLOAD

FAQ

What if I have other questions?

Experiences Canada staff are available Monday through Friday from 8:30am-4:30pm (Eastern Standard Time) to answer any and all of your questions.

Are there opportunities for individual exchanges and travel experiences?

Our regular program is a group exchange. Occasionally, Experiences Canada organizes youth forums that are open for individual youth to apply. If you would like to be put on our youth mailing list to be notified of future opportunities please register here.

What alumni opportunities are available?

We are very keen to stay in touch with our past participants! If you haven’t already done so, sign up for our Experiences Canada alumni Instagram page, or our Canada 150&Me Facebook page. Each year we also invite alumni to apply for one of 12 positions on our national youth advisory committee, and we are always looking for alumni to help support the program by volunteering to visit with schools and groups in your community who may be travelling on exchange for the first time, or assisting us at local teachers conferences and presentations. From time to time, we also offer opportunities for alumni to represent Experiences Canada at other national youth conferences and events.

Testimonials

Not only did I improve my French immensely, I also learned about Quebec, and country living. I learned more in 2 weeks living with my Quebec family than I did in all the years of French class leading up to that. — Sandra Brown, participant
Experiences Canada is an amazing program for all 12-18 year olds. All of these trips/forums showed me a Canada that I had never seen before. What’s more, the strong friendships that are made are incredible! I will remember all of these activities for the rest of my life! — Participant
Taking part in this exchange was a huge honour. During this fantastic trip, I made a lot of great friends and I learned a lot about our culture and what it means to be Canadian. — Ethan Katz, Youth Ambassador
What we really enjoyed about the trip was learning about our different cultures, seeing new landscapes and learning about our own city. In short, it was a very rewarding trip! — Marie-Ève Dion, participant
It was so much fun, and I met so many new people and had probably the most fun of my whole entire life. — Emily Terry, participant
I took a lot from this trip, the places I’d seen and the people I met all changed me in their own little way. Now I try and savour the moments that only come around once in a lifetime! — Courtney Adams, participant
On my exchange, I became friends with people who spoke a totally different language, living at the other side of Canada. We became very close friends and I realized that the only thing blocking myself off from other people were not “cultural differences” or "language barriers"... it was myself! After my exchange, I took the extra leap to run for student... — Lauren Lee of Vancouver BC
There is no better way to see the diversity in Canada than to go to a new community, with a different culture and completely immerse yourself into the culture and the community. With my exchange, I realized that life doesn’t always have to be busy, like it is in Edmonton, my home-town. Now I have an interest in experiencing new cultures - not as a tourist... — Samuel Geisterfer of Edmonton AB
It may sound strange, but, I didn’t expect I’d really have to use English to communicate on my exchange. What a shock when I got to Redcliff, and was left alone with my Alberta parents who didn’t know a single word of French! I felt really lost… But with a full range of gestures, facial expressions and sounds, and lots of laughter and patience, we... — Léola Muntu-Caron of La Pocatière QC
On my exchange, I experienced many new things which include...plane ride, public transport, NHL game, walking in a cave (spelunking) Hard Rock Cafe, first night in jail (we can explain!), first time to parliament, first time skiing on a real mountain, skating on the canal. Experiences Canada helped me experience Canada for the first time, and now I’m... — Myles Gallant of Cavendish PEI
I was lucky to go on an exchange to Nunavut, and it was so exciting to learn about a different culture that is literally in my own back yard, but is yet so far away. The North is such rich part of Canada's geography and heritage, and I had not learned much about it until this exchange opportunity came along. I felt it was important to learn the about the... — Andrew Grose of Alma Ontario

Anciens participants

Désolé, cet article est seulement disponible en Anglais Américain.

FAQ

Quelles sont les possibilités qui s’offrent aux anciens participants?

Nous aimerions beaucoup rester en contact avec nos anciens participants! Si ce n’est pas déjà fait, abonnez-vous à la page Instagram des anciens participants d’Expériences Canada ou à notre page Facebook Canada 150&Me. Chaque année, nous invitons également les anciens participants à poser leur candidature à l’un des 12 postes de notre comité consultatif national de la jeunesse. De plus, nous sommes toujours à la recherche d’anciens participants pour soutenir le programme en allant voir bénévolement les écoles et les groupes de leur communauté qui effectuent un échange pour la première fois ou pour nous aider lors de présentations et de congrès locaux d’enseignants. De temps à autre, nous offrons aussi aux anciens participants l’occasion de représenter Expériences Canada à d’autres activités et congrès nationaux pour les jeunes.

Existe-t-il des possibilités d’expériences de voyage et d’échanges individuels?

Notre programme régulier consiste en un échange de groupe. À l’occasion, Expériences Canada organise des forums jeunesse ouverts aux jeunes pour que ces derniers puissent présenter une demande individuelle. Si vous souhaitez figurer sur notre liste d’envoi afin d’être informés des possibilités futures, veuillez vous inscrire ici.

Comment devrais-je jumeler les jeunes?

Les deux organisateurs de groupe déterminent les personnes qui seront jumelées ensemble en se basant sur leurs profils individuels, leurs âges, leurs intérêts, et aussi sur les allergies, particularités médicales et/ou handicaps physiques.

Testimonials

J’ai non seulement énormément amélioré mon français, mais j’ai aussi appris à connaître le Québec et la vie à la campagne. J’ai appris plus en deux semaines à vivre avec ma famille québécoise que pendant toutes les années de cours de français qui ont précédé. — Sandra Brown, participante
Expériences Canada est un programme formidable. Pour moi, tous ces voyages/forums m'ont permis de découvrir un Canada que je n'aurai jamais vu. De plus, les amitiés que se forment sont solides et extraordinaire! Toutes les activités sont mémorables et resteront à jamais dans mes pensées! — Participante
D'être un parti de cet échange était un honneur immense. Pendant ce voyage fantastique, j'ai fait plusieurs très bons amis et j'ai appris beaucoup à propos de notre culture et ce que se signifie d'être un Canadien. — Ethan Katz, Jeune Ambassadeur
Ce que nous avons bien aimé de ce voyage, est l’apprentissage de nos cultures différentes, de voir de nouveaux paysages, d’apprendre sur notre propre ville. En bref, cela a été un voyage très enrichissant ! — Marie-Ève Dion, participante
C’était tellement amusant, et j’ai rencontré tant de nouvelles personnes et j’ai probablement eu le plus de plaisir de toute ma vie. — Emily Terry, participante
J’ai retiré beaucoup de choses de ce voyage. Les endroits que j’ai vus et les gens que j’ai rencontrés m’ont changée, chacun à sa façon. Maintenant, j’essaie de savourer les moments qui n’arrivent qu’une seule fois dans une vie! — Courtney Adams, participante
Pendant mon échange, je suis devenue amie avec des gens qui parlent une langue complètement différente et qui vivent à l’autre bout du Canada. Nous sommes devenus des amis très proches et j’ai pris conscience que la seule chose qui m’empêchait de m’ouvrir aux autres, ce n’était pas les “différences culturelles” ou la “barrière de la... — Lauren Lee, de Vancouver en Colombie-Britannique
Il n’y a pas de meilleur moyen de connaître la diversité canadienne que d’aller dans une nouvelle communauté de culture différente et de s’y plonger complètement. Grâce à mon échange, j’ai réalisé que la vie ne doit pas nécessairement être une course, comme c’est le cas à Edmonton, ma ville natale. J’ai développé le goût... — Samuel Geisterfer, d’Edmonton en Alberta
Cela peut sembler un peu bizarre, mais dans mon ignorance, je ne pensais pas que des gens pouvaient parler en anglais pour de vrai. Quelle ne fut pas ma surprise quand je suis arrivée dans la petite ville de Redcliff et que mes parents albertains ne parlaient pas un traître mot français! J’étais vraiment désemparée. Avec beaucoup de mimes, de... — Léola Muntu-Caron de La Pocatière au Québec
Pendant mon échange, j’ai fait plein de choses pour la première fois, comme… voyager en avion, utiliser les transports en commun, assister à une partie de la LNH, marcher dans une grotte (spéléologie), entrer dans un Hard Rock Café, passer ma première nuit en prison (je peux tout expliquer!), visiter le Parlement, skier sur une vraie montagne,... — Myles Gallant, de Cavendish sur l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard
J’ai eu la chance de participer à un échange au Nunavut. J’ai trouvé ça formidable de découvrir une culture différente qui est si près de moi tout en étant si éloignée. Le nord du Canada est une région très importante sur le plan géographique et historique, sur laquelle j’avais appris peu de choses avant mon échange. Pour moi, c’était... — Andrew Grose, d’Alma en Ontario